Rise Stretch and Shine

img_9719

Calm for the day keeps the crazy away

I am not a morning person. By any definition. My body and mind are both hard wired to come alive once the sun sets regardless of how exhausted I may be. (I’m often told that that means I have a high I.Q)

I cringe at the thought of having to do anything before 11 a.m. and I am unable to go to bed before the sun rises because I become so invested in whatever it is that I am doing. My creativity is at an all time high, and the quality of work that I produce is always more crisp and worthwhile.

Yet, the normal world, as some like to call it, doesn’t necessarily operate on my time schedule. Days begin at 8 a.m. or earlier and end roughly around the time I am getting into my own personal form of productivity.

For now, this concept seems to work with my lifestyle. The idea of staying up as late as possible and pushing Well, for the better part of my lifestyle. There are days when it doesn’t. And the days that are coming where I will have to in some right operate with this sense of normalcy.

img_9720

Looking for the calmout assignment after assignment.

 

But a good question that I have found myself faced with, and one that I am sure others like myself, who have
simply loathed the idea of having to do anything before it is socially acceptable to have a glass of wine, is how do we overcome these morning woes.

Firstly, I would say to start off with getting to bed as early as possible. That may require physically shutting down every electronic and mentally stimulating device. Ensuring the room is dark, cool and comfortable. If you are unable to fall asleep, a helpful relaxation tip is:

Come into an upright seated position. Drop your arms to the outside of your thighs and allow your head to gently hang. Exhale completely. Inhale slowly through your nose for a count of 8. Hold for 4 seconds. Exhale slowly and
completely through your mouth for a count of 8.

Repeat 3 to 4 times or as needed.

The action of hanging the head as well as the slow and deep inhalat
ion and exhalation decreases the heart rate and lowers blood pressure. Two key elements known to cause sleeplessness.

Secondly, begin your morning with a sensorially stimulating shower. I prefer a warm shower in the morning, but I know for some that may further exasperate the feeling of sleepiness, so a cool one may be need. Peppermint body wash or soap awakens the senses especially once combined with the warmth of the showers steam. My favorite go-to is Bath & Body Works C.O. Bigelow

 

img_9723

I bow to the divine in you

Finally, I am never in a mood to figure out my own sequence of stretches that early, so I usually follow along with my favorite yogi Adrienne and her amazing sequences of stretching and breathing in her Yoga To Start Your Day video that helps to prepare my body and mind for the coming day.

How do you make your rough mornings work?

I bow to the divine in you as the spirit within me honors the spirit within you. Even in this crazy world.

Namas’Cray

Leave a Reply

